AS STAFFORD celebrates its 1100th “burhday” residents are invited to view a town landmark with a stony link to the Lady of the Mercians on Sunday.
Aethelflaed, daughter of Alfred the Great, ordered the creation of Stafford’s burh - or fortification - in 913 Her brother, Edward the Elder, built a stone tower in Stafford known as Castle Hill in the same area where the Broad Eye Windmill now stands.
It is believed that stone from Edward the Elder’s Tower was used in the foundations of the windmill, built in 1796.
Visitors are invited to find out more about the mill’s fascinating history at an open day on Sunday, from 11am to 4pm.
There will be a guided tour, cakes and drinks and a tombola as well as the chance to see Stafford Radio broadcasting from the mill.
Entry is free but donations towards the mill’s upkeep will be welcomed.
Stafford’s Deputy Mayor Isabella Davies has nominated the mill as her chosen charity for the year, and has received £1,000 from the Couture nightclub to give to an ongoing restoration scheme.
Volunteers aim to renew damaged oak support beams, joists and floorboards so the next storey can be used as a heritage centre.
The building was originally erected to mill flour to feed Stafford’s poor, who could not afford the prices charged by the water mills as a result of the Corn Laws which allowed farmers and millers to charge high prices for grain and flour.
Broad Eye ceased milling in 1896 and in the following years it was used by local businesses.
American troops used the mill as a wartime store place but it later fell derelict, before being declared a Grade II listed building in 1951.